Friday, 2 November 2018

Notes 10 - Default Enabled Notes Client Preferences


Today I started to look at the new features in Notes 10 in more detail. Initially a number of preferences are enabled by default for new installations of IBM Notes 10. As an IBM Domino Administrator I am not a big proponent of standard enabled features in new releases or installations. I prefer to decide myself, based on our company policies, which (new) preferences should be enabled for the users in the Notes Client. However, to be more specific, there are three preferences enabled by default in Notes 10. A small remark applies here, namely these enhancements do require the IBM Notes 10 mail template (mail10.ntf). Below a shot description of these preferences.

Cancelled Meetings
By default canceled meetings are now shown as canceled in the calendar rather than removed. This by default enabled preference is is set in File - Preferences - Calendar & To Do - Display - Views.

Administrators can change this default setting by using a Mail Policy. Select Calendar and To Do - Display - Process cancelled meetings automatically and select the desired setting.

Delete Calendar Document
By default, when a user deletes a calendar document from their mail the calendar document is deleted automatically without asking the user to confirm the deletion. This by default enabled preference is set at File - Preferences - Mail - Basics.

Administrators can also change this default setting by using a Mail Policy. Select Mail - Basic - When user deletes a calendar document from any view or folder and select the desired setting.

Mail Rules
By default mail rules run on existing messages. This by default enabled preference is set at File - Preferences - Mail - Basics.

Finally Administrators can change this default setting by using a Mail Policy. Select Mail - Basic - Enable Run Rules on existing mail and select the desired setting.

In my next blog post more about the new Notes 10 features.

No comments:

Post a Comment